Last month you were leaving in 75 days. Now it's 89? Is it possible you are watching too much Dr. Who?

Last month you were leaving in 75 days. Now it’s 89? Is it possible you are watching too much Dr. Who?

Yes, it use to be 75 days and counting and now it’s 89 days and counting until we leave for Afghanistan.  As much as I wish The Doctor was real and we were moving back and forth in space and time, what is actually real is, we don’t have our stuff together yet.

We will be working with an awesome relief and development agency, but getting the paperwork done and talking with the other folks in Afghanistan has taken longer to get accomplished than we’d hoped.  I didn’t want to take the kids out of school in the middle of the semester, so we will be leaving at the end of May, as soon as school is out.

I’ll be honest.  I’m relieved.  I’m relieved to not have to home school the kids as soon as we get to Afghanistan.  I’m glad they can finish out the year with their friends and teachers and we can have the summer together as a family to adjust to our new life.

I’m relieved I don’t have to say good bye to my house just yet and can take more time with the packing and sorting.  Each bedroom has a big plastic tub labeled “Taking to Afghanistan” and whenever the mood strikes, I can sort and toss stuff in there and haul other stuff off.  I’m sure at least half the stuff in tubs will come out, but for now, it’s nice to have the extra weeks to decide.

I’m relieved we aren’t leaving at Easter.  I’m grateful for another holiday to spend with my parents, grandmothers and sister.  I’m glad to celebrate Jesus’ Resurrection with our church family and have a few chocolate malt balls in pastel colors.

I’m relieved to have a few more weeks for coffee dates, MOPs breakfasts, family dinners and girls’ night out.  To find just the right people to make our little house their home and find the right words to say goodbye.

I’m also looking forward to going!  I’m asked a lot now if I’m excited or nervous.  I’m both.  I’m looking forward to being in Afghanistan again, to see, taste and experience that amazing place with my kids. I get nervous when I think about how everything will change and there is no real way to prepare them for it.  I get terribly sad when I think how Jack Jack will feel when Grandma and Grandpa aren’t close by anymore.

I’m looking forward to the challenges of remembering and learning Dari again and seeing Violet and Dash soak it up.  Our house is covered in blue post-it notes with Dari words labeling things.  Violet and Dash are learning two new words a day and they won’t let me forget to put up new ones!

Zarf = dishes

Zarf = dishes

I’m ready to put on the familiar clothes of a foreign culture and get to the main work at hand and I am relieved that I have 89 days before we go.

