This post is part of the “International Alliance of Writers for Down Syndrome” blogger spotlight.  I love being part of this writing group.  It’s like being at the cool kids’ table.  I’m pretty much a dork, but they let me stay and it’s my turn to be in the spotlight.

In honor of the “getting to know you” theme and Valentine’s Day, here are five things that I love right now:

  • I have a degree in Political Science and Middle East History.  But most of what I know about domestic politics comes from watching all seven seasons of the West Wing every chance I get. Now that it’s on Netflix I’m having a heck of a time getting anything done.  I think Michelle Obama is the classiest first lady we’ve had since Abby Bartlett.
  • Books I’ve recently read and loved: “Call the Midwife”, “The Round House” and “When Helping Hurts: How to Alleviate Poverty Without Hurting the Poor…or Yourself.”  That last one is really convicting me right now. It comes down hard on the North American Church for doing things so sloppily and misguided for so long, but gives real, practical steps for how to do things right, both here in America and overseas.
  • Shevet Achim is a group of dedicated followers of Jesus who work to bring Arab and Kurdish children into Israel for life saving heart surgery.  They cross borders, battle bureaucrats and stereotypes and sometimes dodge bullets but they get these kiddos into first world hospitals in Israel and save their lives.  Some of these kids have Down syndrome.  They are working hard to get an 18 month old baby girl from a Syrian refugee camp.  Her daddy wants her to go, but political pressures on both sides may leave her waiting in a camp for too long.  February is Congenital Heart Disease Month and if you are looking for a way to give back after your baby’s life saving procedure, I can’t think of a better place.
  • My friend Maz and her organization have recently rescued 108 girls from the sex slave industry in a country in Southeast Asia.  Maz is in Thailand right now because of some pretty serious health concerns and absolutely hates any sort of applause or accolades.  But she’s far away and an invalid and can’t reach me with her cane, so I’m going to give her the shout out she and her husband deserve.  They, at great personal risk, have saved little girls from a terrible life, and are doing good work to restore their broken bodies and souls.  Pretty much doing things right, if you read the book listed above.  Please leave her some love and well wishes in the comments, will ya?  She will hate it. Haha.

I’d love to know more about you too!  Please, leave a comment, especially if you are a new reader and tell me about yourself.  All of you, let me know what you are reading, watching or praying about these days.  I’m looking forward to getting to know you all a bit better.

 

