Right now

My beloved is on his way to Seattle for business meeting.  My Seattle.  My favorite city, my home during my college years when I wanted an experience very different from small town in the mountains, so I went to a big city on the ocean… Is it wrong that I was gleeful slightly pleased that his plane was delayed so he won’t get to spend the afternoon walking around Pike’s Place Market, and instead has to go straight to the meetings?  He wouldn’t appreciate it without me there, anyway!

Right now

I have nothing good to read.  Help!  I loved the Hunger Games and nothing seems worth my attention since.  Plus, my beloved is reading them now, on my prrrecciousss (re: Kindle) and I can’t pry it out of his hands.  So, suggestions, please!  I’ll even go old school and go to the library.

Right now

I’m waiting for season two of Sherlock to start Sunday, on Masterpiece Theater.  Have you seen it?  Brilliant (said in my best British accent), absolutely brilliant.  Even better then Downton Abbey, but please don’t tell Mr. Bates I said that.  I love him but I think I love Dr. Watson a bit more.

Right now

This is my favorite picture

Right now

This is my favorite idea for Mothers’ Day ever.

Especially the clean birth kits!  Get one in honor of your mom, because heaven knows she has enough scented candles and this helps moms, you know, not die in child birth.  In Afghanistan the rate of women dying in childbirth is one in eight and something this simple could make all the difference.

Do it in honor of my friend Anifa, who once ran, heavily pregnant, and carrying a toddler, away from bombs falling on her village, who gave birth in a field, and who was so brave in the face of all those dangers, longs for something better for her now grown daughter.

Anifa with her grand daughter, Me, Violet and some of Anifa’s sons.

Right now

It’s time to get off the couch and go finish making an apple pie.  That’s right, Mr. Incredible — go to Seattle without me, miss out on pie! (seriously, am I spiteful for what??).

Have a great weekend everybody and leave book recommendations in the comments, pretty please!

 

