Life is full of light and shadows.  Oh the joy and oh the sorrow.  Oh the sorrow / And yet will He bring day from night, and yet will He bring dark to light / When shadows fall on us, we will not fear, we will remember / When all seems lost, When we’re thrown and we’re tossed, We’ll remember the cost / We’re resting in the shadow of the cross

David Crowder Band, “Church Music”

This song has meant a great deal to me these last couple of years as I’ve processed Jack-Jack’s diagnosis, the loss of living in Afghanistan, the joy of returning to my family and small home town in Colorado and the still mystery of what is next for our family.

This blog is in part a way for me to keep processing all of this, in part a way to keep friends and family updated on what is going on with us, more than a facebook status at a time and in part advocacy for people most misunderstood in our American context — people with disabilities and Muslims.

Whew.  That’s a lot.

I hope you’ll keep reading. I really hope you’ll comment.  I hope you’ll be blessed, encouraged, challenged and made to laugh, although probably not all at the same time.

Blessings,

Carolyn

